takahē 109


Pink Sugar – an ode to queer femininity: Cadence Chung

Michael Armstrong

Ao Legends: Pita Mei

Guest Fiction
Payment to the Ferryman: Alice Tawhai

A Dusty, Poorly-Lighted Place: Matthew Gore
You, Plural: Kerry Hadley-Pryce
Shui Gui: Jackie Lee Morrison
The Nazi: Art Nahill 
Sound of solace: Keith Nunes
Love Handles: Annabelle O’Meara
Thursday: Edith Poor
Grass: Bella Sexton 
Please accept this as my notice of resignation: Emma Shi
Acquiescence: Clare Travaglia

Guest Poetry
Six Poems: James Brown

Green Gills: Kate Aschoff
Dumb Luck: Victor Billot
Plastic Plates: Ion Corcos
prayer and prey: harold coutts
Bright Blue: Steve Denehan
Two Poems: Bronte Heron
Two Poems: Bob Hicok
Cobalt: Isla Huia
A Skyline Slaughtered: Mary Kelly
My Mate Julie: Poppia Marriott
Two Poems: Elliot McKenzie
schizoaffective in spring: Jo McNeice
What Kind of Miracles: Jessica Miku
Two Poems: Ruben Mita
Help my boy: J. Alan Nelson
he mōteatea mō Witi: Vaughan Rapatahana
Troubles: Loretta Riach
Fairy Bower: Rose Whitau

2023 Monica Taylor Poetry Prize Winner
Kawekawe kōrero: Austin Haynes


Published by The Takahē Collective Trust.
Chair: Zoë Meager, Erica Stretton; Board Secretary: Melanie Kwang; Art and Comics Editor: Andrew Paul Wood; Fiction and Comics Editor: Zoë Meager; Poetry Editor: Erik Kennedy; Essays Editor: Alie Benge; Reviews Editor: Síle Mannion; Graphics: Maurice Lye; Publicity: Zoë Meager; Website: Erica Stretton, Zoë Meager; Copy Editor: Philippa Tucker; Anna Scaife; Competition Secretary: Anjula Prakash; Fiction Readers: Jill Varani, Alexis O’Connell, Philippa Tucker, Clare Travaglia, Kathryn Van Beek, Taylor Cunningham, Ben Herriot, Rebecca Reader, Melanie Kwang, Lyndsey Knight, Margaret Moores, Norman Penaia, Ruby Solomon, Rebecca Styles, Karen Tay, Latika Vasil.

The Takahē Collective Trust affirms and upholds the principles of Te Tiriti o Waitangi and acknowledges Kāi Tahu as the kaitiaki and takata whenua of the land we operate from.
takahē is produced with the support of Creative NZ.